Quantum Information Laboratory

Quantum Information and Quantum Optics Laboratory

Directions

The laboratory of Quantum Information and Quantum Optics (QIQO) was organized in the summer of 2006 on the basis of Spontaneous Parametric Down-Conversion laboratory. It was designated to work on specific topics in the new field of quantum information and quantum communication. Research themes of QIQO laboratory cover the following topics:

  • Two-photon fields interferometry

    Possible applications - development of quantitative methods to analyze the degree of entanglement of two-photon states, as well as engineering of specific states for quantum information and communication purposes.

    This direction is the main one and serves as a basis for all other activities. We investigate various interferometric schemes capable of revealing the non-classical features of biphoton field generated in the process of spontaneous parametric down-conversion (SPDC). Depending on the phase or group delay values, second or fourth moments of the field are amplified or suppressed. In the first case the intensity of two-photon field is analyzed with a single detector, while in the second case the coincidence counts of two detectors working in the photon-counting mode are of interest.

  • Engineering and statistical reconstruction of high dimensional optical states (D>2)

    Possible applications - development of dense coding systems and quantum cryptography systems.

    We are interested in generating quantum states of light described by three-, four-, and multi-level systems. Such states are called qutrits, ququarts and qudits. It turns out, that biphoton field is a convenient object for experimental realization of such states. Methods underlying the state engineering in this case are transformations of polarization, spatial and frequency modes of biphoton light. Statistical methods of data analysis are applied for quantum state reconstruction.

  • New methods of entangled states generation and their applications in spectroscopy

    Possible applications - spectroscopy of spatially-inhomogeneous ferroelectrics.

    A simple idea underlies experiments in this field - if an optical state is generated in the material with a priori unknown properties, one can obtain information about the material properties by measuring the state at the output. The specific point here is that the generated states are highly non-classical, so it is not so easy to compare the results with known methods of spectroscopy (although it is partly possible). Ferroelectric crystals with quasi-regular spatial domain structure are studied. Such materials are both sources of photon pairs and effective polarization transformers.

  • Development of photon counting techniques in 1.5 micrometer wavelength range

    Possible applications - quantum key distribution systems.

Site search

SpyLOG
Powered by Linux Nginx WEB server Valid XHTML 1.1
Powered by PHP Valid CSS
Powered by MySQL Get Firefox!
Website design and development - Alex Shurupov, © 2009. Powered by AJAX

Лаборатория Квантовой Информации

Лаборатория Квантовой Информации
и Квантовой Оптики

Направления

Лаборатория Квантовой Информации и Квантовой Оптики (КИКО) организована летом 2006 года на базе Лаборатории Параметрического Рассеяния Света. Была выделена группа задач, связанных с развитием нового направления – квантовой информации и квантовой связи (Quantum Information and Quantum Communication). Тематика лаборатории КИКО охватывает следующие направления:

  • Интерферометрия двухфотонных полей

    Область возможных применений – разработка методов количественного анализа степени перепутанности двухфотонных состояний, а также генерация специфических состояний для задач квантовой информации и связи.

    Это направление, по сути, является базовым и служит основой для дальнейшей деятельности. Исследуются различные интерферометрические схемы, в которых проявляется неклассическое поведение двухфотонного поля, рождающегося в процессе спонтанного параметрического рассеяния (СПР) света. При этом, в зависимости от величины фазовых или групповых задержек, подавляются или усиливаются второй и четвертый моменты поля. В первом случае анализируется интенсивность двухфотонного поля и используется один детектор, во втором – число совпадений импульсов, поступающих от двух детекторов, которые работают в режиме счета фотонов.

  • Генерация и статистическое восстановление оптических состояний повышенной размерности (D>2)

    Область возможных применений – разработка систем плотного кодирования информации и квантовой криптографии.

    Речь идет, прежде всего, о способах получения состояний света, которые описываются в терминах трех- и четырехуровневых систем. Такие состояния получили названия кутритов (qutrits) и куквартов (ququarts). Оказывается, удобным инструментом, позволяющим получать эти состояния, служит двухфотонное поле. В основе разрабатываемых методов – преобразования, выполняемые над поляризационными, пространственными и частотными модами двухфотонного света. При измерении состояний используются статистические методы обработки данных.

  • Новые методы генерации перепутанных состояний света и их применение в спектроскопии

    Область возможных применений – спектроскопия пространственно-неоднородных сегнетоэлектриков.

    В основе – простая идея: если состояние света генерируется в среде с (заранее) неизвестными свойствами, то, измерив состояние на выходе, иногда можно получить информацию о среде. Специфика здесь состоит в том, что генерируемые состояния не имеют классического аналога, поэтому сравнение с существующими спектроскопическими методами затруднено, хотя и возможно (частично). Объектами выступают сегнетоэлектрические кристаллы с квазирегулярным пространственным распределением доменной структуры. Такие среды эффективно меняют поляризационное состояние света и одновременно являются источниками пар фотонов.

  • Разработка техники регистрации однофотонных состояний в диапазоне 1.5 мкм

    Область возможных применений - использование в системах квантового распределения ключа.

Поиск по сайту

SpyLOG
Powered by Linux Nginx WEB server Valid XHTML 1.1
Powered by PHP Valid CSS
Powered by MySQL Get Firefox!
Дизайн и разработка сайта - Alex Shurupov, © 2009. Powered by AJAX